EU to sanction Hungary, Poland and Czech Republic

Tuesday, 13 June, 2017 - 21:25

The European Commission has decided to take legal action against Hungary, Poland and Czech Republic, after neglecting their commitments.

“There is still time ahead, let’s hope that European spirit will prevail, said Dimitris Avramopoulos, Commissioner for Migration, Home Affairs and Citizenship from Strasbourg.

On the infringements that are to be announced for the three member states, Commissioner Avramopoulos added that this decision on behalf of the European Commission is not just about time, but “it is about acts and decisions. We have exhausted all means within this last year. The decision taken in Luxembourg by all the member states together and it is mandatory,” added the Avramopoulos. “Time was consumed and time has expired.”

Hungary, Poland and Czech Republic are the member states that gave not acted for one year or for the whole duration of the scheme.” Hungary has never pledged or relocated. Poland has pledged in December 2015 but has not relocated anyone and has not pledged since. As for Czech Republic, is has not made any new pledge since May 2015 and not relocated anyone since August 2016.”

According to the Commissioner, a pledge at least every three months is required to keep member states off the hook. Avramopoulos further welcomed Austria and Slovakia’s recent pledges and relocation efforts.