First ballot in European Parliament

Tuesday, 17 January, 2017 - 14:30

Outcome of the first ballot:

Antonio Tajani (EPP, IT) 274
Gianni Pittella (S&D, IT) 183
Helga Stevens (ECR, BE) 77
Jean Lamberts (Greens/EFA, UK) 56
Eleonora Forenza (GUE/NGL) 50
Laurentiu Rebega (ENF, RO) 43

Valid votes cast in the first ballot: 683
Total votes cast: 718.

The ballot is secret and may last up to four rounds. Candidates may withdraw and new ones may enter the contest before the second and third ballot.

The election of a new European Parliament President began with three-minute speeches by the six candidates, outlining their ideas on how to lead the chamber over the next two and half years. Guy Verhofstadt (ALDE) withdrew his candidature before the vote. MEPs then proceeded to cast their votes in the first round.